Skip to content

The laws about sex

You must be a certain age to give consent to have sex.

This is called the age of consent.

A woman thinking. There is a calendar with a birthday cake on it

You must be 17 years old in:

  • South Australia
  • Tasmania.
A map of Australia with South Australia and Tasmania coloured in. The number 17 is next to the map

You must be 16 years old in:

  • the Australian Capital Territory
  • New South Wales
  • the Northern Territory
  • Queensland
  • Victoria
  • Western Australia.
A map of Australia with the Australian Capital Territory, New South Wales, the Northern Territory, Queensland, Victoria and Western Australia coloured in. The number 16 is next to the map

It’s against the law for someone to have sex with you if:

  • you are under the age of consent
  • they are a close family member, like a brother or sister
  • they are a support person or staff member, like a:
    • carer
    • therapist
    • doctor
    • teacher.
A law document with a cross on it

Download the WWDA Easy English Book: Sex and Laws to learn more about the laws about sex.

Turn Easy Read Off
Easy Read Icon